How to delete metadata items

What is ‘deleting’ content in Aristotle Metadata Registry?

As the Aristotle Metadata Registry is intended to be an authoritative record of all the ‘business intelligence’ around data, content cannot be permanently deleted from the registry. However, in order to facilitate the maintenance of an up-to-date registry, Aristotle supports the soft deletion of content, which removes it from being displayed in the registry. Soft deleted items can be restored if they are required again.

From the Sandbox

All Users can delete items in their Sandbox at any time.
  1. 1.
    Go to 'My Sandbox' from your Dashboard side panel.
2. Select the 'Item actions' button next to the metadata item you want to delete and select 'Delete item'.

Metadata that is Registered or in a Workgroup

To protect audit reports, metadata can only be deleted from a Users Sandbox. To return metadata to a Users Sandbox it must be removed from all groups, including Workgroups, Stewardship Organisations and Registration Authorities.
Only Users with the appropriate Permissions can perform these actions.

Remove Registration statuses

  1. 1.
    Go to the item page and in the Info box select 'View registration history'.
2. From here, you will be able to Manage the Registration Statuses for the item Select
and then
to remove a Registration Status.

Remove from Workgroup

  1. 1.
    From the
    dropdown select Open item editor
2. In the Workgroup section of the item editor select the 'x' next to the Workgroup name.
This will clear the Workgroup.
2. Click confirm

Remove from Stewardship Organisation

  1. 1.
    From the
    dropdown select Change Stewardship Organisation
2. From the Dropdown, click on cross as shown in the below image. Once done with the changes, click on change Stewardship Organisation.
3. Once all of these steps have been done, the item will show up in the Sandbox of the User who created it. Once the item is in the Sandbox it can be deleted.