Upload Metadata Using Bulk Import Feature

Bulk metadata can be imported into the Aristotle registry in two ways: either using "Simple Data Dictionary Format" or "Aristotle Bulk Importer".

Steps to upload bulk metadata using 'Simple Data Dictionary Format':

  1. 1.
    Using "Simple Data Dictionary Format", we can do bulk upload only for the data elements.
Go to "Create Metadata" from the left side panel. Under Upload metadata, the first option is for "Simple Data Dictionary Format". Click on the "Upload SDDF" button.
2. From this page, you can either download the example or the template in excel or csv format.
3. Once the download is done, fill in the excel sheet with the metadata.
4. Once the Excel is ready, go back to step 2. Click on the "Drop your file here or upload from your computer." and upload the Excel sheet.
5. When it shows "Upload complete" 50% with a green highlighted background, click on the save metadata.
6. After saving metadata, the percentage bar will show 100% and the bulk data element upload is complete. If you want to undo the bulk upload, click on the "X" and it will undo the changes.

Steps to upload bulk metadata using 'Aristotle Bulk Importer':

  1. 1.
    Using "Aristotle Bulk Importer", we can do bulk upload for mostly all the kind of metadata, For instance, Data Set, Data Set Specification, Distributions, Object Class, Object Class Specialisation etcetera.
Go to "Create Metadata" from the left side panel. Under Upload metadata, the second option is for "Aristotle Bulk Importer". Click on the "Upload metadata" button.
2. From this page, click on the "Please select a metadata type" dropdown. Select the metadata you want to perform bulk upload for, or type the metadata name, for instance, Object class, it will show you the filters for Object Class press enter.
3. Click on the "Download template file for Object Class", fill in the Excel with the metadata, and drop your file in the drop box.
4. This page shows 50% completion. Click on the "Save metadata".
5. After saving metadata, the percentage bar will show 100% and the bulk upload is complete. If you want to undo the bulk upload, click on the "X" and it will undo the changes.